DE TR

Die Mampen

The Multicultural Revue With the Predicate “Exceptionally Worthwhile.”

Bardentreffen Nürnberg, 2019. Photo: Hakan Güzey

Die Mampen

Die Mampen is a music and cabaret group of which Nedim Hazar is a member. In “Songs and Stories in Transit”, they reflect the stories behind various hits from all over the world.

“Music is the most beautiful language in the world, which everyone understands immediately. That’s why musicians feel at home everywhere the world and can tell their stories.” From “Songs and Stories in Transit” by Die Mampen.

The name Mampen derives from Berlin in the 1930s. Inspired by a cocktail mix of that time, children of mixed marriages between Jews and Christians called themselves “Mampe”. Both the media and the premiere (30/04/2019, Volksbühne am Rudolfplatz, Cologne) audience agree: “A vivacious debut that won the hearts of the multicultural audience.” - comment in the Kölnische Rundschau.

The revue is a crash course through the world history of the last century from a musical perspective. And Die Mampen - Nedim Hazar, Alessandro Palmitessa and Klaus Mages - play hard-core multicultural music: rock’n’roll and rebetiko, calypso and klezmer, swing, Algerian chaabi and Turkish schmaltz. While at it, they tell the stories of the songs and their performers. These are unbelievable but true stories, some are hilarious, some tragic. They are like Dario Fo’s Mistero Buffo monologues. While Fo tells about corrupt popes, Die Mampen narrate about star legends like the gay Turkish singer Zeki Müren or human rights activist Harry Belafonte. One of the evening’s highlights is the story of the recently deceased swing guitarist and concentration camp survivor Coco Schumann.

The music is steady multilingual; German, English, Yiddish, Turkish, Greek, Kurdish, Italian, Arabic and Spanish. But that seems to be the most ordinary thing in the world, once you immerse yourself in the world of Die Mampen. “Die Mampen mix languages, musical styles, cabaret, theatre and concert elements, stories of the Holocaust and the genocide of the Armenians (…) and slapstick. And they succeed…” (Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger)

They succeed because, as the title song of the Mampen which comes at the beginning and end of the show says: “Mum is Latina, Dad is from Nepal, a horror for the AfD (the German right-wing-party), we are everywhere now!” And frontman Nedim Hazar’s son Eko Fresh raps in the video clip of the Mampen song: “I don’t care about right-wing populism. They’re a bunch of confused, stressed-out freaks without rhythm.”

The scenes were written by Nedim Hazar and Cologne cabaret artist and writer Robert Griess. The play was directed by Heinz Kloss, award-winning actor and director of German theatre (Ruhrfestspiele, Schauspiel Essen, Bochum Prinzregent Theater, Gorki Theater Berlin, Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, Staatstheater Darmstadt), who has a heart for Dario Fo’s monologues.
PressGalleryVideos

Gallery

Photos: Hakan Güzey

Videos

The Song of Die Mampen

3:37

Title song of the show featuring Eko Fresh

Daddy Lolo

3:01

“Rock’n’roll is an Armenian invention”.

The Better Times of Turkey

15:28

Excerpt from the premiere of Die Mampen on 30.04.2019 at the Volksbühne am Rudolfplatz in Cologne featuring the Cologne Choir for Turkish Music as special guest.

Cologne’s Turkish Poets

16:03

Eko Fresh, Metin Türköz and Yarinistan with Nedim Hazar - Cologne musicians of Turkish origin came together on stage at the end of the premiere of the Mampen. Fatih Çevikkollu presented the show.

Share Article

TR EN

Die Mampen

Die Multikulti-Revue mit dem Prädikat „besonders wertvoll”

Bardentreffen Nürnberg, 2019. Foto: Hakan Güzey

Die Mampen

Die Mampen ist eine Musik- und Kabarett-Formation aus dem Rheinland, zu der auch Nedim Hazar gehört. In ihrem Revue Programm, „Lieder und Geschichten im Transit”, gehen sie die Geschichten von Hits aus verschiedenen Ländern der Welt nach.

„Musik ist die schönste Sprache der Welt, die jeder sofort versteht. Deshalb sind Musiker auch in allen Teilen der Welt zu Hause und können ihre Geschichten erzählen.“  Aus „Lieder und Geschichten im Transit“ von den Mampen.

Die Presse und das Premiere-Publikum (30.04.2019, Volksbühne am Rudolfplatz, Köln) sind sich darüber einig: „Ein temperamentvolles Debüt, das die Herzen des multikulturellen Publikums eroberte,“ schreibt die Kölnische Rundschau. Die Revue ist ein Crash-Kurs durch die Weltgeschichte des letzten Jahrhunderts - aus Sicht der Musik. 

Die Mampen - Nedim Hazar, Alessandro Palmitessa und Klaus Mages - machen Hard-Core-Multikulti-Musik: Rock’n’Roll und Rembetiko, Calypso und Klezmer, Swing, algerische Chaabi und türkische Schnulzen. Dabei erzählen sie die Geschichten der Songs und ihrer Interpreten, unglaubliche aber wahre Geschichten, teils urkomisch, teils zum Weinen, erzählt wie einst Dario Fo mit seinen Mistero-Buffo-Monologen. Bei den Mampen geht es jedoch nicht um Päpste, sondern um Starlegenden wie den schwulen türkischen Sänger Zeki Müren oder Menschenrechtsaktivist Harry Belafonte. Einer der Highlights des Abends ist die Geschichte des kürzlich verstorbenen Swing-Gitarristen und KZ-Überlebenden Coco Schumann.

Die Musik ist konsequent mehrsprachig; Deutsch, Englisch, Jiddisch, Türkisch, Griechisch, Kurdisch, Italienisch, Arabisch und Spanisch. Aber das scheint ja das Selbstverständlichste zu sein, wenn man einmal in die Welt der Mampen eintaucht. „Die Mampen mischen Sprachen, Musikstile, Kabarett, Theater und Konzertelemente, Geschichten vom Holocaust und vom Genozid an den Armeniern (…) und Klamauk. Das gelingt…“ (Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger)

Das gelingt, denn „Mama ist Latina, Papa aus Nepal, ein Horror für die AfD, wir sind jetzt überall!“ – so der „Mampen-Song“, der am Anfang und am Ende der Show vorkommt. Eko Fresh, Sohn von Frontmann Nedim Hazar, rappt im Videoclip des Mampen-Songs dazu: „Ich mach mir nichts aus Rechtspopulismus.“ Das sind ein „paar Verwirrte, gestresst und ohne Rhythmus.“ 

Die Szenentexte schrieben Nedim Hazar und der Kölner Kabarettist und Autor Robert Griess. Es inszenierte Heinz Kloss, preisgekrönter Schauspieler und Regisseur aus dem deutschen Theaterbetrieb (Ruhrfestspiele, Schauspiel Essen, Prinz Regent Theater Bochum, Gorki Theater Berlin, Schauspielhaus Düsseldorf, Staatstheater Darmstadt), der ein Faible für die Monologe von Dario Fo hat.
PresseGallerieVideos

Gallerie

Fotos: Hakan Güzey

Videos

Der Mampen-Song

3:37

Titelsong der Show featuring Eko Fresh

Daddy Lolo

3:01

„Rock’n’Roll ist eine armenische Erfindung“.

Die schönen Zeiten
der Türkei

15:28

Ausschnitt von der Premiere der Mampen am 30.04.2019 in der Volksbühne am Rudolfplatz in Köln featuring dem Kölner Chor für türkische Musik als Special-Guest.

Die türkischen Barden Kölns

16:03

Eko Fresh, Metin Türköz und Yarinistan mit Nedim Hazar - türkischstämmige Kölner Musiker kamen am Ende der Premiere der Mampen auf der Bühne zusammen. Fatih Çevikkollu moderierte.

Artikel Teilen